Bernardo Pereira finished the race in 20th place overall, but ended up being third best in under-23, with a time of 1:16.09.9 hours, behind two South Africans, Matthew Fenn (1:14.31.9 ), who became world champion, and Robert Ulvard Hart (1:15.34.9).

The other Portuguese in the race, David Fernandes, was 56th in the general classification and finished fourth in the Masters category (40-44 years old), spending 1:21.03.8 hours to complete the 21 kilometers.

Australian Cory Hill is the new senior world champion, with a time of 1:11.46.5.