With the help of the Town Centre First (TCF) programme, localities will be able to work on initiatives including revitalising abandoned properties, constructing parks and riverfront promenades, safeguarding historic sites, and increasing tourism.

The additional towns join the other twenty-six, one in each county, whose final action plans were released on Wednesday by Minister of State for Local Government Kieran O'Donnell and Minister for Rural and Community Development Heather Humphreys.

Kanturk in Cork, Athenry in Galway, Kenmare in Kerry, Ballyhaunis in Mayo, and Carrick on Suir in Tipperary are a few of the towns.

According to Ms. Humphreys, the program's goal is to provide individuals with the tools they need to create a vision for their town that will improve it as a location to work, live, invest in, and enjoy.

She stated that the newly appointed town regeneration officers will guarantee that the vacant projects have a planned and well-thought-out local strategy.

“We are already witnessing the tremendously positive effects of investment throughout the nation, and the government is firmly committed to strategic projects that will transform rural Ireland, such as those funded by the Rural Regeneration and Development Fund.”

Each of the other twenty-six communities that make the cut will get €30,000 to finish their reconstruction plan.

TCF is also intended to boost the availability of homes by repurposing abandoned structures.

It is hoped that several additional municipal teams will submit applications, according to Mairead Hunt, the program's national coordinator.

“It is greatly appreciated that the Department of Rural and Community Development is providing local authorities with funding of up to €10,000 to form new town teams or strengthen current teams,” the speaker continued.