In a statement, IPMA said that the islands in the central group of the Azores (Terceira, Graciosa, Pico, Faial, and São Jorge) will be under an orange warning from 12:00 local time today (13:00 in Lisbon) until midnight.

The islands in the Eastern group of the Azores (São Miguel and Santa Maria) will also be under an orange warning from 15:00 until 00:00.

In these seven islands of the Azores, the IPMA justifies the orange warning with "locally heavy" precipitation, which may be accompanied by thunderstorms.

In the Western group (Flores and Corvo) a yellow warning is also in force until 00:00 due to rain.